Honoring Ford Hess
February 1st, 2020
(ONLINE REGISTRATION CLOSES AT 12 NOON ON JANUARY 30, 2020)
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Are you interested in being a race sponsor? Call 707-677-1610 for details.
The Trinidad to Clam Beach Run was founded in 1965 by HSU’s Ford Hess. The original intention for the race was to decrease the running time of the mile below 5 minutes so a winter course was designed for high school students. The Hess family along with the help of his students designed the track, made their own race bibs from old shower curtains and window shades, registered participants, publicized and engineered the event around the low tide on a Saturday afternoon in late January or early February. Hess was a cross country All American whose passion for running inspired his students, family and friends. He has left a legacy that keeps thousands of enthusiasts coming back to Trinidad each year to run the spectacular race. The Greater Trinidad Chamber of Commerce has continued to put on the race and is celebrating 50 years of family fun and fitness all inspired by Ford Hess. His memory lives on in the stride of every runner along the path of Trinidad to Clam Beach, and in the name of the race itself, which was changed early this century to the Trinidad to Clam Beach Run Honoring Ford Hess.
SAVE THE TRINIDAD MEMORIAL LIGHTHOUSE!
Please help save the Trinidad Memorial Lighthouse, Humboldt County's beloved historical landmark. The Memorial Lighthouse is one of the most visited attractions on the North Coast, located above the harbor in Trinidad. Tourists and locals alike enjoy the exquisite views of the coast, with the lighthouse offering a picturesque highlight. It is truly a treasure.
Unfortunately, this unique monument is threatened by bluff instability and is at risk of sliding downslope. Although the memorial grounds as of this writing are largely intact, the bluff is eroding inches from the site. Remedial measures must be taken to preserve it before the winter rains commence, and YOUR HELP IS NEEDED!
The Trinidad Memorial Lighthouse, a replica of the 1871 Trinidad Head Lighthouse, was built by the Trinidad Civic Club and dedicated on June 26, 1949. The lighthouse contains a 1912 coal oil Fresnel lantern, the last one of its kind decommissioned from use by the United States Coast Guard on the Pacific Coast. It was previously installed in the Trinidad Head Lighthouse. The site at Edwards and Trinity Streets also holds the 1898 4,000-pound bronze bell moved from the fog bell house on Trinidad Head, as well as a memorial wall engraved with the names of 238 individuals lost or buried at sea. It is a sacred place to remember loved ones. For 22 years, an annual memorial ceremony has been held the last Sunday of May commemorating and honoring those named.
The Trinidad Civic Club, founded in 1913, is the owner and steward of the memorial site. This non-profit organization consists of approximately thirty members dedicated to volunteerism and community service.
As Club resources will not fully cover the expenses of saving the Memorial Lighthouse, a Preservation Committee has been formed to oversee this project. $100,000 is the current rough estimate for immediate costs. As more information is revealed details will be posted on the Civic Club Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/trinidadcivicclub.org/, and shared with other media sources.
Contributions to the Trinidad Memorial Lighthouse Preservation Fund can be made through www.trinidadcivicclub.org
or mailed directly to:
Trinidad Civic Club
P. O. Box 295
Trinidad, CA 95570